# Minutes of the Yellowknife Ski Club (YSC)

# **General Election Meeting (GEM)**

held Tuesday, May 1, 2012 at YSC Building

Attendance: Tim Mercer (President), John Stephenson (Vice President), Kevin Hodgins

(Past President), Steve Schwarz (Communications), Mindy Willett (Events), Brett Wheler (Trails), Karin Clark (Programs), Matt Young (Grants & Fundraising), Greg Littlefair (Building), Sarah Heaton (Volunteers), Damian Panayi (Registrar), Eve Petersen (Secretary -

minutes)

Regrets: David Brock (Director at Large), Dave McCann (Treasurer – report by

email)

Members: Bob Gamble, Dana Britton, Dave Speakman, Alicia Tumchewics, Lara

Mountain, Bob Long, Pam Dunbar

# 1. Opening Remarks by Chair

The President called the meeting to order at 7:05 pm.

### 2. Introduction of Board Members and Program Coordinators

The Board members and YSC members present introduced themselves.

#### 3. Routine business

3.1 Approval of the agenda for the GEM

Moved: Steve Schwarz Seconded: Karin Clark Approved

3.2 Approval of the minutes of the AGM held September 13, 2011

Moved: Damian Panayi Seconded: Steve Schwarz Approved

3.3 Business arising from the minutes – None.

#### 4. New business – the printed YSC Report for GEM 2011-2012 was distributed

4.1 The following Board Directors spoke to their areas in the printed YSC Report

President

Registrar

**Events** 

Communications

Volunteers

Grants and fundraising

Programs

**Buildings** 

**Trails** 

#### 4.2 YSC 2012/2013 Fees

### **Resolution from the YSC Board**

That the fees for the 2012/2013 season be the same as for 2011/2012:

"Early Bird Special" – single membership \$90, family \$260, 18 and under \$50, under 6 free with an adult member.

A week after the Snow Show the rates go up to – single \$110, family \$280, 18 and under \$70, under 6 free with an adult member.

Moved: Steve Schwarz Seconded: Damian Panayi Approved

4.3 Strategic Plan follow-up

The President addressed the Strategic Plan which is posted to the YSC website

4.4 Election of Board member for 2012/2013 - conducted by Past President

The following slate was compiled following a call for interest to all YSC members:

Tim Mercer – President

John Stephenson – Vice President

Kevin Hodgins – Past President

Matt Young – Secretary

David Brock - Treasurer

Lara Mountain – Programs and Athletic Development

Damian Panayi - Events

Greg Littlefair – Facilities

Brett Wheler - Trails

Steve Schwarz – Registrar

Dana Britton – Grants and Fundraising

Alicia Tumchewics – Communications

Sarah Heaton – Volunteers

There were no further nominations or volunteers from those present.

### Motion to support the slate

Moved: Matt Young Seconded: Karin Clark Acclaimed

### 5. Special Presentation – City of Yellowknife City Administrator, Bob Long

Bob gave a verbal presentation with maps on the possible future of the Phase 8 Niven development on the border of the leased YSC lands and adjacent City lands.

# 6. Open discussion

The President thanked outgoing Board members and welcomed new Board members.

# 7. Date for the Annual General Meeting

# **Resolution from the YSC Board**

That the 2012 AGM for the YSC be held on Tuesday, September 25, 2012 @ 7:00 pm.

Moved: Matt Young Seconded: Greg Littlefair Approved

# 8. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 9:35 pm