DRAFT Meeting Minutes

Yellowknife Ski Club (YKSC) 2017/2018 Annual General Meeting

Wednesday, June 13, 2018 Yellowknife Ski Club Chalet 7:00 pm

Board members present:

Chris Joseph (President)- CJ); John Stephenson (Past-president JS), Kerry Wheler (Events, KW); Sarah Minogue (Communications, SM);Tania Hercun (Treasurer - TH); Mark Cliffe-Phillips (Registrar - MCP); Chris Hotson (Trails - CH); Steve Reitsma (Programs); Toby Kruger (Secretary, TK); Greg Littlefair - Director at Large (GL)

Volunteer Recognition - done prior to the AGM

The President stressed the importance of volunteers to our organization, which could not survive without them. This year, several volunteers were recognized in person and thanked for their outstanding contributions to the YKSC.

Stellar Snowflake - Youth: Ella Kokelj Double Poler: Alex Lothian Wooden Ski award: Julie Ward & Mike Argue Herringbone - Company support: Overlander Sports Lifetime membership: Kevin Hodgins

WE CAN'T THANK YOU ENOUGH!!

1. Call to Order and Opening Remarks by the Chair

The President called the meeting to order at 7:00 pm and welcomed the new membership.

1.1 Approval of agenda

Approved

2. Approval of 2016/2017 AGM Minutes

Approved

3. Annual Reports from Directors

The 2016/2017 Annual Report (attached) was introduced, and Directors had an opportunity to highlight what was in the Report.

A large focus was on the Renovation Project and momentum for the Club going forward.

4. Presentation of Budget & Financials

TH walked the membership through the financial statements and notes, as well as the budget for next year. See actuals attached.

TH reported that the \$40,000 loan that had been approved at the 2016-2017 AGM for the Chalet Renovation Project was not drawn upon because enough funds were raised from grants & fundraising, as well as eligible items from the Chalet Reserve Fund.

5. Election of Directors

CJ will not stay on so ran the election.

Big thanks to Greg Littlefair (also 10 years) who is not putting his name forward again this year.

Toby Kruger indicated he was stepping down as Secretary and would like to step down from Board, but accepted the VP position to transition the Club while the President Position was vacant. No one stepped up for President as yet.

CJ: introduced the candidates for the 2018/2019 Board:

President: Vacant Vice President: Toby Kruger Treasurer: Tania Hercun Secretary: Chris Rose Programs: Steve Reitsma Communications: Sarah Minogue Facilities: Vacant Events: Vacant Events: Kerry Wheler Trails: Chris Hotson Registrar: Mark Cliffe-Phillips Director: John Stephenson Grants and Fundraising: Diep Duong Volunteers: Alyssa Titus (Added from the floor)

<u>Resolution</u>: To approve the slate of Directors presented.

Approved

6. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 8:37 pm.